End of summer, back to school

My children are on a long-promised break from any school work right now. They will have three full weeks off before starting back up after Labor Day with a full school schedule.

Over the summer, they did swim lessons (dd#3, ds#1), went to camp (dd#1 & dd#2), swam at the pool (all), worked their way through some typing lessons (dd#1, dd#2, dd#3), played t-ball (ds#1 & ds#2), calculated their way through some math lessons (dd#1, dd#2, dd#3), participated in karate & a couple of tournaments (dd#1, dd#2, dd#3), wrote to friends via snailmail (mostly dd#2 with a couple notes penned by dd#3), participated in gymnastics (dd#2 & dd#3), memorized their times tables (dd#2 using Xtramath), and played outside a lot (all).

I’m spending these two weeks cleaning, decluttering, readying the school room, and getting those last-minute school plans in place. We’re also trying to get in a few more ‘summer’ activities like one more trip to the zoo, a playdate with friends, and some fun baking!

Hopefully in the next couple of weeks, I’ll post some highlights of what we’ll be doing this year. In the meantime, I updated our “What we use” and “About my kids” pages if you want to peruse them.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in homeschool, school year, summer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment