Summer Scheduling

I try to keep our schedules pretty light year-round, but that is difficult with five kids.

We are going into our busy season now – with vacation bible school this week and one week in July, t-ball for ds#1 (only once/week for four weeks), gymnastics (one night/week for eight weeks), swim lessons (two weeks in June, two weeks in July), camp (four days in June for the oldest), karate (twice per week, every week) and various birthdays coming up this month. Plus read alouds and math every day we can fit them in.

All that suddenly falls into the background when you get a phone call like the one my mother just made to me this afternoon. My father’s identical twin brother died today. Like my father, he had been diagnosed with diabetes and Alzheimer’s. He’d been sick about two months ago, but seemed to be recovering better. However, he’d stopped taking his medicine after his illness. (My father stopped taking his about two weeks ago as well.) My dad seems to be taking it well so far, but part of me wonders if he just thinks my mother told him that his brother died to be mean. Part of me wonders if he already knew and that is why he spent so long in bed today.

Rest in peace, Uncle Ken. I hope your long-anticipated reunion with your beautiful wife is going well.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in Family, stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

