One-Year American History Overview for 3rd-5th Graders

I spent a long time looking for a one-year overview of American History that would fit my family’s needs. there are several that are two year programs, but we generally do a four-year history rotation from the Ancients to Modern (a la Story of the World). We’re skipping SOTW 4 as I’ve read other’s opinions that it is dark, has a different feel than 1-3, and is geared toward the older students. My up-and-coming 3rd grader is a sensitive child and I combine my two oldest for History studies. Those two things made me think that perhaps I’d like to take a year off of our rotation and look just at the history of the U.S. (We’d also touch briefly on the modern times through the eyes of America.)

So, I ended up putting together my own plan incorporating lots of literature and activities. I have an overview plan which lists read alouds, readers for my 5th grade (strong reader), readers for my 3rd grade (struggling reader), music, art, and writing activities.

Spine (core book used as a chronological basis of study to keep us on track): Complete Book of U.S.  History

Activity ideas & framework from: Portraits of American Girlhood (including Molly & Felicity’s Cook Books)

Music & Art supplements: Draw and Write Through History Book 4, Draw Write Now Book 5, I Hear America Singing!

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in History, homeschool and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One-Year American History Overview for 3rd-5th Graders

  1. Cyndi Calkins says:

    I know you wrote this awhile ago, but I just found it. I have been struggling with the same thing. Our fifth year of MFW includes SOW4 and I my to-be 3rd grader won’t be able to handle it. My other son will be in 7th, so he’ll continue with our cycle and do it this fall. So, what to do with 3rd grade. I love your plan, but not sure of the history book because it isn’t biblical. Thank you for giving me a starting point. I am glad to know that I’m not alone with some of my homeschool struggles. Thank you!

  2. doucementgently says:

    If you don’t want to use the CBUSH spine, find another one. Abeka has some American History texts. Christian Libery has one called “American Pioneers and Patriots.” I know I’ve seen some plans written with page numbers cited. Let me know if you want me to look around for them.

Leave a Reply

