First Day of School

We completed our first day of school this fall. My four and three-year olds aren’t tired, but I am.

I noted early on that I was not completely prepared to teach history today, but since we do each twice per week, I had the option to do science instead. Our hands-on plan went well, especially since I assigned my oldest to look up “Simple Machines” in the Usborne Science Encyclopedia during her assigned reading time. She took notes and drew pictures on “levers.” Since that was what I planned on building on our first day with our Ein-O Discovery Tank, it fit in nicely. We built all three “classes” of levers and started our notebook pages on them. (I forgot to print out paper for this, so I had to run do this while they were building their models.)

We stopped by the library this evening to pick up a book on Mary Stuart and an additional “visual encyclopedia” on physics to use during the next few weeks of science.

I wasn’t ready for spelling today as I didn’t have my tape recorder handy and when I retrieved it, I had to change the batteries. I also couldn’t find my extra red spelling notebook for SWR, so I ended up going online tonight and ordering another (with plenty of “not-needed” extras).

We had some “attitude” today, but it went pretty well, all-in-all. My oldest’s piano book arrived via UPS this evening, so we’re in good shape for the rest of the week . . . I hope!

Keeping the preschooler, toddler, and baby busy was just as fun as I knew it would be. Thank goodness for good weather and baby naps!

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in homeschool, school year, Science, SWR and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

