New school year – final checklist

It is almost time for us to start our new school year. As Child #3 isn’t ready to start Kindergarten yet, I am once again only teaching two kids. I’ve worked out our tentative schedule and figured out our curriculum. Our new school area is getting some final checklist items completed and yet I’m not sure I’m quite ready.

One thing that is bothering me is that my brain thinks I don’t have everything written out and planned properly. This stems from what I have planned for poetry and science this year, I think.

I have this year penned in as mostly a review of the poetry we’ve memorized the last four years along with reading poetry for appreciation. My need-to-be-organized brain thinks this isn’t scheduled enough. In my opinion, this is a great year for poetry review and appreciation because there is plenty of other things to memorize (states/capitals, Latin words, spanish vocab, etc.).

On the topic for science, I’ve decided to use mostly hands-on materials for our study of physics. In that vein, I have the Mechanical Science version of Ein-O’s Discovery Tank to discover simple machines. I also purchased Snaptricity to study electronics and magnetism. Depending on how quickly we go through those and how much the kids like the hands-on stuff, I can go a bunch of different directions to study other aspects of physics. I figure I’ll buy at least one other kit (perhaps TOPS or Science-in-a-Nutshell), but don’t know which one yet. I haven’t written up lesson plans for this subject as it will depend on how quickly or slowly we go through each kit. I plan to use the Usborne Science Encyclopedia for the kids to look up definitions and record their learnings on paper with space for them to draw. The lack of lesson plans is killing my everything-written-down type of brain.

So, as our first day looms (day after Labor Day), I must convince my own brain to settle down and be ready for the new year.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in curriculum, homeschool, school year, Science and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

