Just Perfect!

I took our vehicle in to get an oil change. This is usually quite an ordeal as I have all five of the kids with me and we are over an hour from home. On this particular occasion, I had only the three youngest because we were going to pick up the older two from my parent’s house where they had been staying for a few days as a special treat.

I walked into the waiting room of the oil change place with my pre-schooler, toddler, and baby. There were two older gentlemen there and one immediately said, “Weeeelll, I think all you need is another couple of children and you will be perfect.”

I gave him a winning smile as I settled in for our almost hour-long wait and told him that I guessed we were just about perfect because I did happen to have two more children.

He said that if the others were as cute as these, he guessed we might as well re-populate the earth with them. Then, he quizzed my oldest child there about her name, age, birthdate (to see if she was going to be attending Kindergarten this fall), younger siblings, and the older children. Once he realized the kids weren’t going to be complete terrors, he went back to his newspaper.

When we were leaving, he complimented me on the well-behaved (and “good looking”) children I have. I went from this high to the low of listening to my mother complain about my oldest child in an attempt to get me to punish her.  (Sorry, Mom. I deal with such matters in private and just with the child involved when possible. You’ll get a “thank you” letter with an apology for any behavior that wasn’t acceptable directly from said child.)

My family is “just perfect.” …. Only in my dreams!

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in Kids, stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

