It rains and it pours

It has not been unusual for at least one child (other than the baby) to wake me during the sickness-filled three weeks past. Last night was no different.

It was around midnight when Child #3 – the last child to succumb to the nasty virus that Child #4 first fell victim to and then passed around lovingly to all his siblings – sobbed loudly, drawing my attention to her bedside.

When I entered the room that she shares with two other siblings, the odor that came to my nostrils was the second worse that can greet a mother at night from a room of sleeping children. (Vomitus is by far the least welcome smell. This was merely the unpleasant aroma of a messily filled and must-be-changed diaper.) I first took care of the feverish and uncomfortable Child #2. Once she had received some TLC and an appropriate dose of fever-reducing medicine, I turned my attention to Child #4 who was the obvious source of the odor.

I carried the child out to the couch where I could see what I was doing, grabbed a fresh diaper, some diaper cream, and warmed up the wipes. After a successful change with only a few whimpers from the sleeper, I returned the child to bed. That left only the cleanup.

We put the smelly ones in a pail designated for that purpose that is located in the garage just outside the kitchen door. I had to unlock the deadbolt on the kitchen door first, before I could drop the odoriferous item out in the cold pail. I opened the kitchen door to find . . . The overhead garage door was open to the cold, dark night. I quickly dropped the diaper, hit the button on the wall to close the overhead door, reclosed the kitchen door, and reslid the deadbolt into place.

Normally, I don’t lock this deadbolt. Why lock the door between your attached garage and your house when you live in a semi-rural area with very little crime (compared to big cities)? But the last month or so, we’ve had many instances of our garage door opening and closing randomly. We’ve tried clearing all the codes from the remote controls and resetting them. We’ve unhooked the wires from the unit to see if there was a short in a wire between the wall switch and the unit or the little push-button unit on the outside of the garage door and the unit. The random openings continue to occur.

I’ve actually been standing outside the garage (with the door open) when it starts to close. There are no other cars or people within view in the neighborhood to indicate someone pushing their remote that is on the same frequency as ours. It is a bit disconcerting to hear the garage door opening when you know no one in your house has hit the button.

So, I started to lock the inner door. And, I will continue to lock the inner door until we get someone out here to fix this door-opening thing.

Did I mention my spouse is working nights and therefore wasn’t home for the middle-of-the-night festivities?

I just have to remember to unlock the door before he gets home in the morning or he’ll have to ring the doorbell to get in.

When it rains, it pours!

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It rains and it pours

  1. I hope your family is starting to be on the mend. My son gets croup fairly easily. They have both been to the ER a few times and I know how scary that can be. My son was even taken off a plane in Seattle by ambulance because he developed severe croup onboard from the dry air when he was 2. He’s finally starting to outgrow it and only had it once briefly this winter.

Leave a Reply

