ER visit

I am not one who panics easily. I’m not one of those moms who takes their kids to the Emergency Room without a Darn Good Reason. One of those happened today, IMO.

It was lunch time and I had water heating up on the stove for some pasta. The kids were playing, including some hide & seek in the basement. I happened to be in the basement as well when suddenly Child #2 started screaming. This isn’t necessarily unusual, but the type of screaming was clearly that of a “pain” incident. I looked over to see her sitting down in the process of bringing a blanket over her head to hide under. Her hands were frozen near her head, her neck was semi-contorted, and she continued to scream while her eyes looked frantic.

I got her calmed down just enough to get her to tell me what was hurting. She said it felt like her heart was bursting. I ended up laying her down (no idea if that was a good idea or not) while I sent the other kids upstairs to get their shoes & socks on. I carried Child #2 upstairs. She was no longer screaming, but said her heart still hurt “a lot” and felt like it had flipped over. She had another incident while she was laying on the couch. She had a finger motion and a sound to show the flipping she thought her heart did. After her heart didn’t hurt as much, she said the pain went into her spine.

I had Child #1 watch #2 while I ran #3 & #4 across the street to a neighbor’s house. Children #1, 2, & 5 came with me to the local Emergency Room (ER) where they did a chest X-ray, EKG, blood work, and other monitoring. Her heart rate was okay and they couldn’t find anything that showed what happened. We were sent home with the request that we note any further incidents (date, time, what she was doing at the time) and to follow-up with our pediatrician in a couple of weeks. If she has frequent occurences, we are to follow-up sooner. Depending on how things go, she might get a monitor to try to catch an incident or be referred to a pediatric cardiologist. Or, we just might never know what happened.

I am glad everything checked out okay. I did some praying on the drive to the ER. I didn’t want to be thought of as someone who brings their kids into the ER for small cuts and bruises, but I would never forgive myself if I hadn’t taken her in and something ended up happening that could have been prevented. The nurses & physicians assistant that we saw were professional, very caring, thorough, and gentle with my young child. The physicians assistant called to consult with our non-local pediatrician. It all worked very well.

Thank goodness for our wonderful health system!

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in Health, Kids, politics, stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ER visit

  1. hnracademy says:

    I totally get not wanting to be a mom who is constantly running her kids to the ER. I know moms that do, and I don’t want to be one of them, but there are times when you just have to. I once took a 5yo who had just had the wind knocked out of her, but she was so panicked that I just couldn’t tell what was wrong. When we got to the ER (by way of ambulance)she was fine. I felt bad, but like you the people in the ER were reasuring. They would rather you bring them in than have a child needing care and not get it.

    So, all of this to say, YOU DID THE RIGHT THING! A child who is panicked and having chest pains, we would have gone to the ER too. I will be praying that you can figure out what happened, and that it will be no big deal.

Leave a Reply

