Christmas Eve Night / Christmas Day

It was cold, dark, & snowy. All the children headed to bed, some to read, some to actually sleep. I found two in the same (twin-size) bed, but decided to let them stay that way.

I wrapped the one present we have for each child from us and placed them around the base of the Christmas tree. I left the Christmas lights on when I went to bed, so St. Nicholas could find the chocolate chunk cookies & milk the children left out for him. I fed the baby, told Child #1 to turn out her light, and went to sleep myself.

The baby woke at 2 a.m. for a feeding. I checked the living room. Baby Jesus had arrived in our little creche scene. St. Nicholas had not yet arrived.

The baby was up again at 4 until around 4:30 (diaper change, food, burping, more food). Soon after, Child #2 appeared in my room to request that Child #3 be removed from her small bed. Transfer was completed and I assume St. Nicholas had arrived at the house by this point. I did not check the living room at this point because I figure Child #2 would have followed me and probably never gone back to sleep.

Child #1 was the first one up. Spouse’s work called at 7 a.m. to see if he could come in as one of the other guys couldn’t get out in the blizzard-like conditions. Spouse spent an hour attempting to get out onto a main road from our house. After digging himself out three times within two blocks, he returned in time to get ready to head to Mass. He called to let them know he couldn’t get out either, but they’d found two others that were going to try to make it in.

I confirmed with the phone message on our Church’s answering machine that services were still going to take place. It only took about thirty minutes to get everyone ready in all their snow gear and another ten to fifteen to walk the four blocks. During the time we were bundling up, the plow cleared half of our route. That was great since the stinging snow was hitting directly in our faces during that half of our trek. Children #1 & 2 walked. Children #3 & 4 were pulled in a sled. Child #5 was wrapped in one blanket and ‘slung’ in my ring-sling. Then, I wrapped another warm blanket completely around said child to keep his head out of the blowing snow and wind.

We have a little more than a foot on the ground over the top of ice. More is coming down every hour. I’m glad we don’t have to go out.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Eve Night / Christmas Day

  1. Wow. That is a lot of snow.

    I think the middle of the night feedings and changes are something we all forget about…until the little line turns blue…then it all comes back quickly.

    Stay inside…at least for today and Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

