School Status

I planned to do no school this month. However, a couple of weeks ago, I felt really good with how we were doing with the new arrival. I thought about it and figured that starting one “fun” subject would be ok. So, we started doing history using Story of the World 2. We just started Chapter 4 on Thursday and we are going pretty slow – using my lesson plans but spreading the work out over a couple of days. This has been good since I have a LOT of books for most of these chapters, so we do read-alouds most days.

We’ve “eaten like Roman soldiers” and recently also “eaten like monks.” We’ve made our own ink and quill pens. We’re learning to draw mythical creatures from a book we checked out to see how to draw Grendel from the Beowulf story. (Child #2 is very artistic.)

This past week, we also started our religious studies. So, if I feel adventurous, we’ll add science this week. I still have a few weeks until I planned to start “full school,” so whatever we get done now is “gravy.” The kids love history & science, so they enjoy it and I still have time to keep up with the laundry, house, and feeding a newborn.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in homeschool, Kids, Science, Story of the World and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to School Status

  1. Easing in is a nice way to do it. Get done WHAT you can WHEN you can.

Leave a Reply

