Looking for the Eject Button

I’m conflicted. On one hand, I’d like to keep this baby inside for another month. Seriously. They are so much easier to take care of on the inside than on the outside. And I’m so very blessed in the pregnancy category because I have extremely easy pregnancies (only the usual symptoms and complaints) compared to some.

On the other hand, I really thought I was going to have the baby yesterday. I woke up at 3 a.m. (for the second or third time) to visit the bathroom. By 3:15, the “gut clenching” contractions had started. They were five minutes apart and about 45 seconds long for awhile. I prayed for some more sleep, believing it would be a long day. Sometime between 5 a.m. and 6 a.m., they slacked off in frequency and magnitude and I fell back asleep.

We had plans to go to the ‘big city’ since I had a doctor’s appointment that afternoon and we’d get the oil changed on the Toyota Sienna. My spouse had the day off, so it would have been a great day to have a baby. We had lunch while the oil was being changed. We were not talked into a transmission/ differential fluid change or the four new tires they wanted to sell us. We dropped the kids off at my parent’s place so we could try to “walk the baby out” since we’d had such good contractions during the early morning hours.

We climbed over 600 stairs and walked a great deal more horizontal ground in and around the hospital at which I hope to deliver. While the contractions were going pretty good during all that walking and climbing, they slowed down to a trickle once we sat down to wait for my doctor’s appointment.

For a change, they got us in on time (even ahead of time) for my appointment. I went ahead and got my cervix checked. For all that work, I’m only 2 cm dilated. We knew it was no use at that point, declined the stripping of membranes, picked up the kids, and headed home.

We had a very nice, quiet evening at home – making homemade pizza and having birthday cake and ice cream for dessert. You see, yesterday was my birthday. As much as I wanted to have that baby yesterday, I’m relieved to still be at home today taking care of the other four kids while husband is back at work.

I’m no longer looking for the eject button. I’m content to wait to see when this child is going to come out all on its own. Who knows? Perhaps I won’t have to climb another 600 stair steps to get the child out. (My husband’s favorite labor-speeding up process is walking the stairs at the hospital. It has worked the last two babies.) Maybe this labor will go like my first one – quick.

For now, back to the usual. I think I’ll do some mending today as the objects (a couple of buttons to sew back on, some rips and tears to fix, a patch or two to affix) are really starting to pile up. And read several books aloud. And play a new matching game that my six year old made for me that she calls “Indian Checkers.” You know, the usual.

Now, talk to me again when I’m “overdue” to have this baby and maybe I’ll sing a different tune.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in Family, Kids, stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Looking for the Eject Button

  1. Erin says:

    So I’ve been checking up here periodically (and admittedly somewhat randomly- I always seem to be in a hurry) and keeping this baby news to myself… are you ever planning on coming back to the yahoo group?

    BTW if this baby is/was born today, it’s a proven fact that I just made up that he/she/it is destined to talk like a pirate for the rest of their life :o)

    Good luck and prayers :o)

Leave a Reply

