Camping Out

My husband didn’t do any camping out as a kid. I did some and I was the one who came into the relationship with a 2-3 person tent, a good “mummy bag”, and some experience.

That said, I dislike the true “roughing it” that comes with camping out. I learned to bring along my inflatable mattress that fits nicely into my tent (and even has room for my spouse on it). I learned to cook fairly decently over a campfire, although I lack all the specialty tools that true outdoors types have. I just can’t abide with the whole no-toilet-facilities thing.

The kids enjoy camping out. The husband enjoys camping out. So, I grin and bear the experience when it is proposed.

We have been borrowing another tent the last few of years since we can no longer fit all of us into my 2-3 man. We put the older children in my tent and use the borrowed tent for the rest of us. We picked up a new BIG tent on clearance earlier this year, but haven’t tried it out yet. By the time this post appears, we will be mostly through our “roughing it” experience this year. When I recover, I’ll tell you how it went. Maybe.

Until then, enjoy all the comforts of home and cross your fingers for not much rain and mosquitos for us.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in Family, Kids, road trip, stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

