A new bike

Child #2 recently decided it was time to finally bite the bullet and ride without training wheels. We’ve tried to get her to learn since last fall, but she did not have the confidence in herself to do it. Once she decided she could, she mostly figured it out herself in two days. She wobbled some on the first day and was starting herself on hills and riding comfortably around the block on the second.

It was time to pass her too-small-for-her-anyway training wheel bike onto Child #3, put the training bike (no training wheels) back down in the basement, and get her a bigger bike (20″). We were pretty close to the “big city” today, so we stopped in and picked out her new bike.

The handle bars are wider, the bike is bigger, and she wobbles a bit while riding it. However, I think that she will be back to comfortable in one medium length bike ride. I also think she will be able to keep up with Child #1 who has a much bigger bike. Child #1 has a habit of calling everyone else “slow poke” when riding.

As a really great side effect, Child #3 on the bigger bike is also much faster than when on the smaller bike. Child #3 is also relatively fearless (hopping curbs, riding quickly through broken concrete sidewalk areas) and has a much better sense of balance than either older sibling at the same age.

When I hook up the bike trailer, I can bring Child #4 along and everyone else rides. Depending on the route, I am usually able to ride right along with the older two without stopping too much to help Child #3 through “bad spots.”

The biggest question has become,  “Where will we put / what will we do with all these bikes?”

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in activities, Kids, summer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A new bike

  1. I just leave mine out front so the neighborhood thieves and pick what they want…even in broad daylight. I have one on a regular bike, but I think my four year old will be on training wheels forever.

  2. We recently traded training wheels. I bought a used beginner bike for my daughter then took the training wheels off my son’s and put them on hers. He took right off like a pro. I was impressed. She prefers to push her bike rather than ride it. Oh well, summer’s almost over anyway. We’re looking forward to family bike rides next summer.

Leave a Reply

