Decluttering

We are taking two weeks off school – from the end of our formal school year and before starting our ‘light’ summer schedule. During this time, I am attempting to declutter the house. We “clean” the house on a regular basis and “pick up” the house even more often. However, there is just too much stuff in the house.

I started in my bedroom a week ago. The first day, the progress was amazing. Visually, you could see the work I did. For the next couple of days, it didn’t look like I had accomplished much else because the “big stuff” was taken care of and I was working on eliminating the smaller items that build up into junk piles.

I moved onto the kitchen. When I work on counters, you can see progress and it is so motivating. When I work on cabinets, there isn’t as much visual feedback, so it can seem to drag on or that I didn’t get much done. So, I have been interspersing cabinets and counter tops for the best self-motivating effect.

I have several of the worst cabinets yet to go and the worst counter top. I’m tackling some of them today with the already-done areas to show me what is truly possible.

The goal is that as each area is decluttered (and cleaned), it will be kept clean (and decluttered) as part of the daily routine. We will see how that goes once we start back up a school schedule.

After the kitchen comes the dining/living room (with the large school materials area) and the toy closet. I don’t think I will have a chance to get to the other closets or kid rooms during this break. I do still have to cook, clean, and keep the kids out of trouble in between the decluttering.

My spouse told me I should have taken before and after photos, but I have them in my mind still. I’d rather just keep the ‘after’ image in my mind daily as we all endeavor to keep them in good shape.

A place for everything and everything in its place!

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in Family, stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Decluttering

  1. My wife is doing the same thing…decluttering but also changing the homeschool routine at the same time…it looks like ahurricane blew through here.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

