Potty Training – Day 4

So, Child #3 is older than any of the other kids (so far) when attempting potty training. Well, we’ve tried it several other times, but each time was so unsuccessful that we gave up. It was a readiness thing.

But, for the past couple of months, I have known this child was ready. The child was just not willing. Frustrating.

Armed with the threat that this child will not be going to the pool with us if not potty trained, I started again on Thursday. I knew my spouse would be off work for several days after that and that I would have some ‘back up’ help for Days 2 – 6 or so. This is important because I lose focus and sometimes forget about the child who will leak all over the floor without a reminder.

Anyway, I picked starting when spouse was at work because the first day is always really ugly. And it was. Wet, wet, wet, sopping, dripping. Horrible.

The problem was that Day 2 was the same way. Two days. No successes. Nothing. Nada.

Day 3 was very similar up until nap time. I put Child #3 in a diaper with the instructions to “poop.” About 20 minutes later, Child #3 announced that a change was necessary. I KNEW it! This child CAN do it – and was just waiting for the security of the diaper to do it in. (My spouse took this as a very depressing event and was ready to give up again. Not me. This was my proof that this child was READY to potty train.) Shortly after, we had success #1 on the potty (pee). After a long dry break, we had success #2 right before bed.

So, I started Day 4 knowing it is one step forward and two back. Strangely, we only had one “oops” today and it was late in the day. This child can sit and pee on demand, but will not poop on the potty yet. Also, there is not yet any idea of the “feel the urge, hold it, run for the potty” trick. It is all based on timing of the requests by the parents.

We will continue on. The pool opens in less than a week. It will be harder with ‘school’ going on. We are just doing testing, so it won’t be as tough as a “normal” school week to fit in potty breaks.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in Kids, stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

