Middle of the Night Request

It is not unusual to have Child #2 visit me in the middle of the night. Usually, it is to tell me she needs to go potty because she thinks it is better to ask than just to use the potty and “wake up Daddy.” (I have tried to explain to her that I am going to always tell her to go use the potty and adding verbage will only increase the chances of waking up Daddy, but she does still occasionally do this.) Sometimes, it is a water bottle that needs to be refilled or “freshened.” But last night was different.

Child #2 came in and after I acknowledged her, she said, “Can I have a toothpick or a needle?”

I was puzzled. Splinter? Something stuck in her teeth? It was 3:30 a.m. and knowing the huge difference between the usage of these two devices, I asked for clarification.

“My nose is stuffed up and I want to clean it out.”

Ahhh. As we headed for a tissue box, I gently explained that neither a toothpick or a needle would be appropriate. I led her through blowing her nose (one nostril at a time, then both together) and sent her back to her room with another tissue.

I wouldn’t want to think of what would have happened if I would have just given her a toothpick without asking why. *OUCH*

She reports that she feels fine today. We will see if that is the beginning of a cold or just a fluke. (Probably, it is the latter.)

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in Kids, stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

