Field Trips

We are entering our home stretch for the 2008-2009 homeschooling year. Our official last day of school is Memorial Day, but the last week is a “testing” week where once you get tested in a subject, you don’t have to do it again. The days get shorter & shorter as there are fewer and fewer subjects on which to be tested.

Anyway, going into this final few weeks, I find myself faced with numerous field trip opportunities. After pondering each one individually and as a group, I’ve decided that some things are meant to be enjoyed!

To heck with my schedule and trying to fit in more spelling lists or a few more math lessons!

We are going on three field trips this coming week. That is, as long as the kids aren’t sick and they aren’t behaving horribly, we are going on THREE field trips. I’m still going to be able to get (morning) schooling in on one of the days, so I’m only cutting our school week down from four days to two and a half. Still, for I-Must-Stay-On-Schedule Me, that’s pretty ballsy.

Keep in mind:
– We still plan on finishing the history & science curriculum plans I have.
– We are finishing up our last planned chapter in Religion and then we’ll just review during the time we have left.
– I’m so far behind in my plan for older dd’s spelling, it isn’t funny. However, she’s doing so badly on her weekly tests that I don’t know that it matters how many more lists we do this year.
– We already started next year’s math books, so I’m not too worried about our pace there.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in field trip, homeschool, planning, school year and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

