Change to Next Year’s Lesson Plans

Note to self:  When doing next year’s lesson plans, instead of writing all subjects out on a weekly sheet, make the plans for each subject on their own separate pages. I am getting really tired of page flipping because I’m one week behind in religion, three weeks behind in spelling, one week ahead in science, and right on track in the other subjects. I’d rather just grab the plan for that subject and child when it is time to teach.

We’ll see how that goes for a year and then re-evaluate. This “weekly plan” thing didn’t work well for us.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in homeschool, planning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Change to Next Year’s Lesson Plans

  1. We have a weekly plan. But my wife is the HOMESCHOOL NAZI (sic)!!!!!!

    • doucementgently says:

      I found that “umbrella schools” mostly send out daily plans grouped by the curriculum and level. It makes some sense to me, especially when I have one kid who skips several weeks worth of “built-in review” in math at the beginning of the year and thus throws off my plans right away.

  2. hnracademy says:

    I made weekly plans this year and have been thinking the same thing about switching to a plan by subject. That would mean a lot more pages for us (3 kids, 5-8 subjects) but it might be worth it. On the other hand, I haven’t even looked at the schedule in several weeks, so maybe I should just give up making schedules.

  3. doucementgently says:

    I found I don’t need a schedule for every subject. I have two of the kids grouped together for history/science/religion. The reason I like having a schedule for those is so I can look to see what activities I wanted to do & what supplies I need to have ready.

    I have a separate ‘supplemental’ book list (science/history) sorted by “week #” but also by chapter # (same list, next column) in case we get off a week or two. More papers, but easier to grab when we are headed to the library.

    I think it depends on what type of a person you are. I _like_ the schedules and I mostly follow them. I have a HS friend who went to the trouble to make a lesson plan for the year, but hasn’t used it at all. She’s a free spirit. So, she knows not to make a plan again as it is just a waste of time for her & her family.

Leave a Reply

