Different Personalities

All my kids are different. Each one has his or her own personality, way of communicating, learning style, favorite activities, and way of interacting with others. This is evident every day.

Take yesterday, for instance. It was a beautiful day, so after we finished our school work, I encouraged everyone to be outside to enjoy the warm weather while it was here. The oldest went out with a book. Number 2 child went looking for some chalk to draw with. Number 3 got out a bike. Number 4 went straight for the dirt.

Later, while #1 & #2 children were playing with a neighbor, #3 came inside and fell asleep on the couch. After waking up from a rare nap a bit crabby, she went to her room where she curled up on the floor quietly. My spouse attempted to find out what was wrong, but the child would not answer. When I came home from the grocery store with #4, I found her temperature was 102.3°F.

It is interesting that this child’s reaction to feeling sick is to go be by herself and not bother anyone. Her immediate older sibling (Child #2) would have been throwing herself around the room, wailing, crying, and trying everything to let people know she didn’t feel well! The dramatics would have continued for as long as she could keep them up in her ill state (usually a remarkably long time).

Each child has their own way of doing things and I love each of them for it. For example, I actually have a chance of getting a “spit bucket” to Child #2 before she throws up because she makes so much noise prior to the event. Child #1 would wake me up after throwing up. Child #3 would throw up, make no other sound, then go back to sleep – meaning I would find the situation several hours later.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in Family, Health, Kids, stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

