Children Behaving In Public

We had all four kids along when we picked out a replacement stove (range top/oven) recently at a large store. Our current oven has “issues” that involve kicking off randomly usually at temperatures over 350° F. It is hard to consistently cook or bake things when the oven won’t stay at temperature and beeps error codes at you even when turned off. As it is “old enough” (12-13 yrs old) to warrant replacement and we’d already tried replacing some parts, we decided to just buy a new one.

After doing some research on the internet, we headed out to touch some models in a store with our own hands. My spouse was wooed by some of the flashy things on a few of the high price models. I knew our budget and just wanted something that isn’t too fancy that will consistently work. While we were opening doors, checking buttons, and seeing if the knobs on each model are removable, the kids were nearby . . . not getting into too much trouble.

We both had to chase down wandering kids a couple of times and repeatedly tell them to “not touch” things (which was very hypocritical since we were touching things constantly). In the end, the salesperson we dealt with complimented the children on their wonderful behavior and offered us a $10 gift certificate to a nearby CANDY store so they could pick something out as a reward.

I have to balance this positive story with one from just over a year ago. I had all four kids with me and I was just trying to find some sandals for the two older kids. It had been a long morning for me and I was waiting to check out at a mall department store shoe counter. All of a sudden, a woman behind me exploded with an “Well, I NEVER!”

I turned around and she told me that my oldest had just stuck her tongue out at the woman for “no reason.” She then went on to lecture me about raising children and informed me that she had several children of her own (now grown) and NONE of THEM would ever have done such a thing. After some questioning of both the woman and my daughter, I assured the woman that I would see to it that my daughter receive a suitable punishment but did not indicate to her what it would be or when I would be administering it. She looked at me closely and then said she believed me.

Some days you feel like a nut. Some days you don’t. (I’ve definitely had both.)

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Children Behaving In Public

  1. RaiulBaztepo says:

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

Leave a Reply

