A Date With My Husband

I was able to get out for a couple of hours with my husband yesterday for a date. Despite my attempts, I only get a date with my husband a few times a year. This was my fourth date in 2008. It was a refreshing and wonderful time.

It didn’t start out that great as we realized en route that neither of us knew the address of the place we were headed. We spent about fifteen minutes driving around “the big city” trying to locate this spot before I finally stopped to check a phone book. It then took another fifteen minutes to drive to the adjacent town where the place was actually located.

We finally arrived at our destination – an indoor shooting range. We waited about fifteen minutes for a lane as it was lunch hour and busier than we expected for a weekday. Then, it was our turn. I spent a glorious half-hour shooting at targets with a 9mm handgun.

My hands got a bit shaky and arms tired near the end, plus reloading was tough on my thumbs. But I did manage to just barely shoot better than my husband on all the targets we tried. Except for a couple times shooting rifles out on a relative’s farm, I haven’t done any serious shooting since I was in grade school getting my Hunter’s Ed. certification.

I was surprised that about one-third to one-half the shooters there were women. Some looked to be “regulars” with a few occasional or first-timers like me. There were some loud and interesting fire arms there!

I left the range feeling happy with my experience and looking forward to going again . . . sometime. Maybe next year? It was definitely more fun with my husband along. I wouldn’t have wanted to go by myself. We returned to pick up the children relaxed and recharged. I definitely encourage it as a marriage bonding activity.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Date With My Husband

  1. He didn’t reload for you? If you were dating he would have, huh?

    🙂

  2. doucementgently says:

    He was busy reloading while I was shooting. He did trade me the ‘easier to reload’ magazine for my tough one.

    I recounted our totals and I was wrong. He did win one of the rounds we shot. 😉

Leave a Reply

