Chocolate Cake + White(?) Frosting

I had a birthday cake to make again and a chocolate one was requested. I tried a new recipe and it worked great. Here’s the recipe, courtesy Gold Medal Flour’s “Alpha Bakery Children’s Cookbook”

Xx is for “Xtra-Special” Celebration Cake
3 c all-purpose flour
2 c sugar
1/2 cup cocoa
2 t baking sode
1 t salt
2/3 c vegetable oil
2 t vinegar
1 t vanilla
2 c cold water

1. Heat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease two round pans, 9 x 1 1/2 inches; dust with flour.
2. Mix flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl.
3. Mix oil, vinegar and vanilla. Stir oil mixutre and water into flour mixture real hard until well blended, about one minute. Immediately pour batter into pans, dividing equally.
4. Bake until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean, about 35 minutes; let cool 10 minutes.
5. Remove from pans; let cake cool completely. Fill and frost cake.

White frosting was also requested, so I found two different (new) recipes. I don’t usually do white frosting. I went ahead and tried the “Waldorf Astoria” one and failed miserably. The flour-milk mix was supposed to be very thick. It was thick, but probably not thick enough. The butter-sugar mix was supposed to be fluffy. But mie wasn’t fluffly enough. When combined, they were supposed to be the “consistency of whipped cream.” Mine was yellow and runny. If you try it, be forewarned, it didn’t ever thicken up for me.

Waldorf Astoria Frosting
3 T flour
1 c milk
1 c granulated sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1 c butter

Cook flour and milk until very thick, stirring constantly. Cool. Cream sugar and butter plus vanilla until very fluffy. Add to the first cooled mixture. Beat until well blended (should be consistency of whipped cream). Frosts a 4-layer cake.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Cake + White(?) Frosting

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Cake + White(?) Frosting « Learning As I Go

  2. Here’s my frosting recipe. It doesn’t require any cooking and is very easy. I have chocolate, lemon, and cream cheese variations on my blog. My family won’t let me get store bought frosting anymore after I made this.

    3 cups powdered sugar
    3/4 stick butter (softened)
    1 1/2 tsp vanilla
    1 1/2 T milk
    3 T milk

    stir butter and powdered sugar together. Add other liquids and mix with fork until thick and all powdered sugar is dissolved. Makes about the same as one pre-made frosting tub. You can adjust the sugar or milk a little to easily change the consistency if it’s too thick or thin.

  3. Pingback: White Texas Sheet Cake « Learning As I Go

Leave a Reply

