Why Did I Ask about Vision Therapy?

What caused me to bring up vision therapy in the first place?

Honestly, if I wasn’t working with my child daily as part of homeschooling, I don’t think I would have. Child #1 might be referred to as an “auditory” learner. She loves to be read to, but complains bitterly at having to read anything herself. It is “too hard.” She can read at a second grade level, but her comprehension is very low. I have been known to ‘bait’ her by reading to the end of a chapter that completely leaves one hanging. Then, I will carefully close the book while she BEGS for me to read “just one more page.” I hand it to her and tell her she can read the next page herself. She desperately wants to know what happens next, but appears to be more than she can get herself to trudge through to find out.

If she were in “regular” school, I would probably say she was lazy.

Her (manuscript) handwriting is horrid. She can’t color within the lines without giving herself a headache. She absolutely hates writing anything with a pencil on paper. (I have started calling this her “pencil phobia.”) She will write using markers on the white board, however. She loves to use side walk chalk outside.

Compared to her peers, she is only about half as accurate at hitting a ball with a bat.

So, I questioned. Is there anything we can do to help her learning be smoother? Is she having issues totally unrelated to motivation or ability – something physical or mental (related to her eyes) – that is causing her to have to work harder to achieve the same results as other children her age?

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in esotropia, Health, homeschool, Kids, vision therapy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Did I Ask about Vision Therapy?

  1. I wouldn’t worry too much about the comparisons, but the headaches are a sure sign of an issue that needs to be addressed.

  2. Pingback: Struggling Reader Turns into a Reading Lover « Learning As I Go

Leave a Reply

