Toddler Mayhem!

I have written before of my little Tasmanian Tornado – Child #3. She writes on walls, spilled fingernail polish on our carpet, spilled laundry detergent on the carpet,and gets into all sorts of mischief. The problem has accelerated in recent days. She has managed to tear up a small notebook of paper that belonged to her older sister, break two bracelets – neither of which belonged to her, tear up drawings done by Child #2, get into the (“childproof door-knob-bed) (toy/clothes) closet numerous times to spread small toys around the house, smeared lotion on the carpet, used up several Band-Aids that an older sibling had squirreled away for emergencies, and in general, create mayhem in our house!

I realize she is bored. I have tried to remedy this by providing age-appropriate puzzles and toys – rotated every 15 minutes or so to keep up her interest. I have even sat her down with writing utensils and her own sheets of paper to attempt to distract her from her getting into things. Nothing works for long – and it usually ends up back-firing as she takes the items and strews them all over the rest of the house. Or, she leaves them on the floor where Child #4 picks them up and throws them down the stairs.

One acquaintance of mine suggested that I strap said child into a high chair for long stretches of time to keep her in one place and out of trouble.

Um, I’m not quite that desperate. But, if you have any other (more humane) suggestions, I’ll entertain them. Did I mention that she is the sort of kid who can get along without much sleep? She went to one nap at around nine months of age and rarely takes a nap now. If I ask her to take a nap and don’t lay down with her until she goes to sleep, I usually find her wreaking havoc in the room when I come back in to check on her.

And yes, I’m putting a lock on the closet door. She turns three in three months. She used to be my “easiest” kid.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in Family, homeschool, Kids, stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Toddler Mayhem!

  1. I thought 3’s were worse than 2’s, sorry. We’re a year ahead of you. K will be 4 in about 2 months. Consistent punishment and rewards (bribes) help along with having a semi-predictable daily routine including getting enough sleep. However, I do like the duct tape idea 😉

Leave a Reply

