Wish More Would Have Listened

Early this morning, I called my representative’s office in Washington. My request that my congressman continue to vote “No” on the bailout bill and my comments about it were noted by the person on the other end of the line. I had to give my name, address, and telephone number – perhaps for a follow-up letter, perhaps just to make sure I really lived in the correct legislative district to be calling and expressing an opinion.

I was disappointed that the bailout bill passed, but I was not surprised. I was very glad to hear that my representative here in the mid-Central region of the country kept his “no” vote. I called his office back this afternoon to express my thanks.

Read a really great reaction of what this bill means from someone who has been warning (for years) about the economic collapse caused by (among others) the government.

So, now what? Well, Congress has not helped anything with this bill in the long-term. The hole we dug ourselves is still there. In my opinion, there is no way we can avoid reaching the bottom of the hole. The “relief” package passed today will slow our descent some, but may ultimately make the hole deeper and also may make it a longer climb out.

I was able to listen to the second half of the VP debate last night. I thought both parties did a good job of giving their stock lines and pat answers. (I liked Sarah Palin’s “Drill, baby drill.” and “Say it ain’t so, Joe.” I was glad to hear she is still trying to convince John McCain that drilling in Anwar is the right thing to do.) Overall, I was disappointed in the lack of answers and the constant pointing out of how great their running mates are.

I really hope more people look into the third party candidates. Read more about them. Consider voting for them. Libertarian Bob Barr. Independent Ralph Nader. Green Party Nominee Cynthia McKinney. Or, my favorite, Constitution Party candidate Chuck Baldwin.

If you want to know more about what Chuck Baldwin would do as President of the United States of America, view this column to read about it.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in Chuck Baldwin, Constitution Party, economy, politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wish More Would Have Listened

  1. Crazy old Ron Paul, doesn’t seem as crazy as everyone thinks any longer, huh?

    My Representative held her “no” vote also.

  2. speedmeisterp says:

    I’ve been reading more and more about the Federal Reserve System etc. A last minute “emergency” situation is not supposed to happen because there are boards of governors, etc whose job it is to watch things and report to congress. There should be a group of people to blame, if there was a problem. I feel like the country just got hijacked by a bunch of big banks. Not only do the taxpayers have no say anymore, but our politicians appear to be powerless as well. In fact I would love to see the congress take a test on how our Federal Reserve System works and see if they pass. That sort of thing should happen before they are allowed to represent taxpayers. So now our country is run by banks that just got issued a debit card to our tax dollars. Its messed up. This can’t have a good outcome. Government is out of control.

  3. D H Brown says:

    Subject: Fw: I took the pledge – Have you?

    Well the congress has done it.

    As of the morning of the bail out vote in the House of Representatives, polls showed that the American people were 74% against any bail out for the Wall Street fat cats. We wanted a fix from the bottom up and not from the top down. Fix ‘Main Street’ not Wall Street we told them. They didn’t do it.

    However they did agree with the bloated $700 billion the Senate passed for their greedy Wall Street friends with another $150 Billion of Pork. So now our children are on the hook for at least $850 billion and no one can tell us if it will work or will be the last.

    Meanwhile, ‘We The People’ continue to lose our jobs and homes.

    Our elected representatives have chosen to ignore us, ‘We The People’ whom they swore to represent.

    They think we are stupid. They think we don’t have the guts to clean house. They think ‘they know better’ than we on ‘Main Street’ do.

    So…

    I have taken the Pledge:

    I, (put your name here), will NOT vote for any incumbent in the upcoming election regardless of party. I intend to do my part in ‘throwing the bums out’ in Washington that continue spending my money on those that have wrecked our economy rather than the people who sent them there. This is my solemn pledge.

    Mail this to your Representative and Senators, to all your friends and all news media, both local and national. Email this to all the talking heads on the cable outlets, Lou Dobbs, Bill O’Reilly, Keith Olbermann, Chris Matthews, Alan Colmes, Sean Hannity, Rush Limbaugh and with every blog and talk show host you know of.

    Urge everyone you meet to take the Pledge.

    This the only way we, the American People, will ever take back our own government.

    They keep telling us that the only power we have is the vote. So… For once let’s use it!!!!!

    Believe me… if we turn them all out THERE WILL BE CHANGE!!!!

    Do we have the guts? Do you???

    If not, then you don’t have any right to complain if they continue to screw us over.

Leave a Reply

