Its Just Like Riding A Bike

For my birthday this year, my husband agreed to watch the kids so I could go horse back riding.

It all started last fall when my eldest child had the chance to take group horse back riding lessons with some people in our local homeschool organization. We were committed to once-a-week lessons for six weeks at a very reasonable rate. Child #1 had a great time and I came away with some horse envy.

I was definitely a horse-lover in theory growing up. I had the chance to attend a two-week “horse camp” when I was in sixth grade or so. I LOVED the hands on experience with my horse, Dobbin. But that was the end of my one-on-ones with horses. My mother is not a fan of animals of any size and did not come for the final “parents day” when we showed off what we had learned.

A few weeks ago, we received a brochure from the people who gave the lessons to Child #1. One of the new opportunities they were offering was “Ladies Night Out.” After a brief consultation with my spouse and the calendar, I got on the list for an hour of horse back riding.

I was a bit apprehensive, especially when I was making friends with my assigned horse for the night, “Big Buddy.” I wondered how much I would remember and how we would get along with each other. Two of us were almost immediately pegged as “advanced” and required to be on different teams to make it “more fair.” We played games and although my team lost all three of them, I had a great time.

My best friend commented that riding horses is like riding a bike in that you never forget. I wouldn’t go that far. But I did have a great time. Big Buddy made me look like a pro.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in activities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

