Judgement Error

So, I made an error in parental judgement on Saturday morning and it cost me big “time.”

First thing Saturday morning, I brought up a new clothes washing detergent container from our storage area downstairs. We use liquid detergent and recently have been purchasing the 2x concentrated stuff with the little spigot device. Neither my spouse nor myself particularly care for this “concentrated” idea or the packaging, but it appears that all the manufacturers are going in this direction. So, until I start making my own detergent like some of my granola (“crunchy”) friends, that is what we have.

Then, I instructed my older two children to get dressed and get their chores done while I was in the shower. My very last reminder before I left the room was for them to be sure to keep an eye on the younger two kids.

. . . I was just starting to rinse my hair of shampoo when Child #1 yells from the door,

“EMERGENCY! COME QUICK, MOM!”

I ask what the matter is and the response is, “I can’t tell you. You just have to see it.”

The last time this type of answer was given, it was because of an overflowing toilet. So, I shut the water off, grabbed a towel, and RAN.

When I reached the living room, I saw the problem.

Two small children and a big (2′ x 3′) patch of blue liquid detergent – on my carpet. With little footprints leading out of it on two sides.

I grabbed both small children and the bottle of detergent, gave strict instructions not to get NEAR the pile, and turned back around to head to the bathroom. I dropped off the detergent, cleaned up Child #3, and gave Child #4 a bath. He was coated in the stuff from head to soles.

I sucked up as much of the stuff as I could “straight” and then borrowed a steam cleaner from a neighbor. Four hours of work later, the blueness is gone, the soapy patch is down to 1′ x 2′ and the rest of the area is pulling “clean.” I finally stopped working on it late Saturday night when I somehow managed to break the steam-spraying part of the cleaner. Oops.

One of the neighbors hosted a thank-you party in the afternoon for almost the whole block because (minus one family), we helped them shingle their house. It was a nice shin-dig.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in Kids, stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Judgement Error

  1. Well…you surely have a patch of REALLY clean carpet!

Leave a Reply

