Finishing Up Some Things

Since we will start back to (home) school on Tuesday, September 2, we have been trying to get a few more things done. One example is replacing the door between our garage and our kitchen.

Almost five years ago, we had just moved into this house and only had two children. One night, I put the younger child down to sleep and took the older one outside with me so that I could mow the lawn. My spouse was working the night shift and wouldn’t be home until morning. I thought I would provide a nice surprise by not only mowing, but also trimming the lawn. (I normally do not do the trimming.) I would have been okay if I had just called it quits after I was done mowing the lawn. But NO, I had to try to show off.

When I was finally done and had put everything away, I collected our older child and tried to head inside.

Only to realize she had locked the door on the inside before coming outside.

I had seen this before and had planned ahead by unlocking the deck door deadbolt. Since we never lock the lower knob on the door between the dining room and the deck, we headed around to get into the house that way.

No dice. While the deadbolt was unlocked, this darned child had locked the lower knob on this door too!

I was faced with a dilemma. I had an infant asleep inside, two of us outside, and a spouse who wouldn’t be home until almost 7 a.m. I knew only one neighbor and they were not home. The windows were all very thick and very locked shut. The front door was both dead-bolted and had a locked storm door.

The good news: I got in by kicking the door in – the door between the garage and the kitchen.

The bad news:  It only took two kicks – and one was pretty half-hearted. Definitely not a “secure” door.

The result was that the door let the draft in during the winter because of the bad seal and swelled up badly in the summer – making it sticky and hard to open.

Since it was ultimately my fault, I finally got around to ordering a replacement door. I tore out the old door and installed the new one. I painted the outside trim in anticipation of installing a storm door here as well (a long-time wish of mine).

There were a few hiccups along the way that still need to be taken care of – each which would need a story/post of its own. I hope to get the trim up this weekend. I am unsure when I’ll get the storm door installed.

The kids were very helpful (except when I needed them not to keep opening the door and trying to go through while I was attempting to fasten it).

P.S. The door is level – it is the picture that is crooked.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finishing Up Some Things

  1. “P.S. The door is level – it is the picture that is crooked.”

    lol!

Leave a Reply

