Arrived! (Currently Reading): Haystack Full of Needles

Postmarked 8/1 & 8/2 (I ordered three books, two arrived in one envelope, one arrived in a separate envelope), three brand new copies of this book arrived at my house on 8/4. I’m trying to squeeze in a chapter here & a chapter there, but I’m finding that I want to savor a bit more so I’ve already gone back to do some re-reading and I’m only on Chapter 4.

Haystack Full of Needles by Alice Gunther is subtitled “A Catholic Home Educator’s Guide to Socialization.” In what I have read so far, Alice has painted a picture of her own journey to home educating and is starting to show both how she was able to find other homeschoolers and how the reader can reach out in a variety of ways to find other people who teach their children at home. Not only that, but she makes the case that it is very important for the parents to have a good network of home educating friends, not just friends for the kids.

Let me know if you received your book yet and what you think. I’ll be sure to post my book review and opinion when I am done.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in books, homeschool and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

