Another Update on Fall Planning

Another update on my previous one on how planning for the fall is going. We are in the midst of swim lessons and I have some single-parenting weeks coming up, so I’m trying to get almost everything done before then.

Reading – My History & Science book lists contain many books that will be at-or-above reading level and I plan on assigning about one or two a week for this subject. The “free reading time” books will be picked out by each child.

History – I finished my list of extras books from the library and sorted them by week/chapter. I made my list of items I need to buy for some of the activities. I have a few more loose ends to tie up with some of the extra activity books I have for the Greek & Egyptian time periods.

Science – I finished typing up my lesson plans for my ‘free styling’ Earth Science curriculum using a spine I bought and many books from the library. This is going to push our 15-books-at-a-time-for-the-whole-house limit pretty hard for a few weeks, but I’m pretty excited.

Art– We received our ArtPac I (Art With A Purpose) the other day. It is exactly what I thought it would be and I’m excited. My K’er is excited, too. Should be easy for me and just what the ‘artistic’ child is looking for at this stage.

Poetry – I’ve got quite a stack of poems ready to be memorized. Call this done!

Sewing– Took a look at two books that I ordered and I really like them. It looks like I will be learning something, too! Still need to make a trip to the local fabric/quilting store to pick up some materials/fabric for some of the early projects. I’ll take pictures as we finish things to show you guys what we are up to.

Cooking– Haven’t done anything else on this since my last post.

Overall, I would say I’m 85% there. Pretty good progress in the last 10 days, but I had more free time to complete it than usual.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in curriculum, homeschool and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

