Politics . . . Again

So I wrote the other day that I am not happy with the direction our country is going. I have to admit that neither major political party enthuses me in the slightest. I have a father-in-law that votes one way and a father who votes another. I get into debates with both for their inability to see that your candidate should believe in the same types of things you do, not that you should vote for a candidate because of the political party they belong to.

I do a significant amount of research before I vote. Well, as much as I can with all the other things I am up to. In this case, I know I cannot vote for either Barak Obama or John McCain. Neither one matches the things I believe in or will lead this country in the direction I think it should go.

So, what are my beliefs? And who can I vote for? I am NOT going to sit this one out. My voice will be heard, even if it is a small squeek. (Remember that the littlest guy in Who-ville put the rest of the voices over the top in Horton Hears a Who!)

I believe . . .
– The (federal) government should be small at all levels. There are far too many bureaus, agencies, and offices – most of which are truly “unconstitutional.”

– There shouldn’t be an income tax. The (federal) government has a right to levy taxes, but not on my income. Stick to the constitutional tariffs.

– There should be a clear and quick process for determining if someone should be able to enter the country for purposes of living & working. Those who get turned down should not be allowed to enter.

– We should have secure borders to enforce the above process. Those who have broken the law by entering the country illegally should not be here.

– Subsidies (farm & otherwise), welfare, medicaid, medicare, social security, grants, and all other “government programs” need to be phased out.

– States (legislature, not the court system) should be able to decide their own laws – including whether abortion, same-sex marriage, or euthenasia is allowed.

– The federal government must stop sending money to the UN & other countries. They should immediately be required to be run “like a business.” With ONE SET of books and with not only a “balanced budget” but one that shows how they will get out of debt within a small and finite number of years.

– We need to get back to where religion is not the business of government. This “separation of church & state” stuff is a made-up piece of hooey. As long as the government is not setting up a “State Religion” that everyone needs to follow, let the churches (Christian, Jewish, Muslim, Buddhist, etc) do their own thing. The ACLU can pack sand.

– Get our troops back here as soon as safely possible. From EVERYWHERE. For example, we have no business still being in Germany. We need to protect ourselves, not all these other places. I’m the wife of a former military man. I’m the daughter, grand-daughter, and niece of veterans. I respect the things our troops do. I just don’t think our government should be sending them into harms way (or to a US base in a foreign country) when it is not in our best interests. We are NOT the world’s policeman.

– Get back on the gold standard for our money. It will be VERY difficult, but it can be done. Our money should MEAN something. It should be backed by something REAL.

– Government should stop standing in the way of private businesses. Remove all these tax incentives and laws about drilling in different places. If the LOCAL state or city government wants to pass a law against an oil refinery or drilling off the coast, go for it. Let the people decide. We would have a lot more “energy” and possible fuel sources if it wasn’t for the hoops that businesses have been jumping through for things as stupid as corn-based ethanol.

Gosh, I could go on and on. In the end, I have found that the Constitution Party is the closest to my beliefs. I’m going to vote third party – Chuck Baldwin for President 2008.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

