Economy

For the last few of years, I have been worried about the direction our beloved country is headed. Morally, economically, politically, and spiritually. I won’t go into politics in this post (perhaps another time), but I have definitely been aware of the problems our government has with spending (and promising to give away) more money than they take in. It appears, from some of the information I have been finding here & there, that the Federal Reserve has been printing more money than they should be. The money supply goes up which is their way of keeping the economy going. The problem is that the increased money supply also creates inflation.

The same inflation that we are all seeing each week at the grocery store. (Don’t get me started about what we are seeing at the gasoline pumps.) While the government’s COLA (Cost of Living Allowance) doesn’t take into account gasoline or food, the rest of us know they are going up. And going up A LOT.

I’m getting derailed from my topic. Let me re-focus. Anyway, I have read a lot about where this country might be headed economically and what a big recession (depression) might mean. However, nothing had very much to say about how I could plan ahead to protect my family. The advice was usually something like this:

Get out of debt.
Buy gold.
Hope for the best. and/or Pray.

Um, yeah. Okay. Not overly helpful. If I could store gasoline and somehow protect my rather large storage spot, I think that will be more helpful than gold as a bargaining chip.

Finally, however, I read a series on getting ready – just in case. It was in Glenn Beck’s free email newsletter. Most of it went over my head (like investing in foreign currencies – I’m not sophisticated enough to figure it out), but the section on storing food sunk in. Have enough food for your family for a year. Wild concept for me. Apparently, the Mormons are heavily encouraged to have a year’s supply all the time.

So, we’re looking into it. Probably a year or two late in terms of prices of some of the staples. But, we are looking into it. Baby steps. At least I can feel like I’m doing something to plan.

Just in case.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in economics, politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

