Birthday Cake

My youngest just turned one year old. I usually make a cake for birthdays, so I pulled out my recipe books. I had been wanting to try some of the recipes I saw in the First Catholic Slovak Ladies Association Fraternally Yours magazine (March 2007 back page). This seemed a perfect opportunity.

Black Chocolate Cake

2 cups flour
2 cups sugar
3/4 cup cocoa
2 eggs
1 cup vegetable oil
1 cup COLD coffee
1 cup milk
1 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
     Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour sides of 9″ x 13″ cake pan. Mix all ingredients until well blended. Batter will be thin. Pour cake batter into pan and bake for 45 minutes. When cake is completely cooled, spread with peanut butter frosting (below).

Well, I did make a few changes to the recipe. I used softened margarine instead of the vegetable oil. I made the coffee with milk and decreased the total liquid to 1 1/4 cups (instead of 2 cups). I used two 9″ round cake pans, but forgot to flour them after greasing them. Note: This is an important step that caused me some frustration. Definitely don’t forget that step if you try this recipe.)

Looked good. So, then I tried the:

Peanut Butter Frosting

1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup creamy peanut butter
2 tbsp. milk, or as needed
1 tsp. vanilla
2 cups confectioners’ sugar
     Place the butter and peanut butter into a medium bowl, and beat with an electric mixer. Gradually mix in the sugar, and when it starts to get thick, incorporate the vanilla and milk one tablespoon at a time until all of the sugar is mixed in and the frosting is thick and spreadable. Beat for at least 3 minutes for it to get light and fluffy.

I can’t ever do something exactly as it is listed. I didn’t soften an extra stick of margarine (didn’t use butter). So, I nuked it in the microwave until it was soft and, well, runny. I wanted to use the same measuring cup for the peanut butter as for the powdered sugar, so I put the powdered sugar in first. Then, I wanted an easier time of getting the peanut butter out of the measuring cup, so I nuked it as well. I think the p.b. microwave action was the killer. The frosting never got “thick.” It got chunky and the butter (from the peanut butter) separated from the rest of the mix. It definitely never got “light and fluffy.”

It wasn’t a total loss. I used it as a middle layer between the other two layers of the cake. The outside of the cake was frosted with my old standby – fudgey frosting. (Recipe not at my fingertips or I would post it, as well.)

Happy Birthday little one!

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in Kids and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

