Planning Next Year and Interruptions

I’ve started planning my lessons for next fall.

So far, I have been able to fit 42 chapters of Story of the World I into 33 weeks. I made sure to include some slop for extra reading and activities, but we will be kept hopping in order to keep on schedule.

In religion, I am about half done. We are covering the No. 1 St. Joseph Baltimore Catechism Chapters 1-14 on a schedule suggested by Laura Berquist in Designing Your Own Classical Curriclum. Alternating with that, we will be studying the saints. That part of the lesson plans is blank at this time. I also included a two week cram of the ten commandments. We still haven’t decided if our second grader will be receiving the Sacrament of Penance or Holy Communion this year. There are a few weeks left after all these items are penciled in. If the second grader does receive the Sacraments, those weeks will be used quick review of the First Communion Catechism. They will be dropped in whenever it works to put them in.

Next, it is onto Science or Math. I can’t plan Spelling/Dictation yet as I lent out my copy of Spell to Write and Read/The Wise Guide to another homeschooler who is also knee-deep in planning. She is looking for a program to use with her kids and had never heard of SWR. We were discussing the planning process when she raised the biggest problem she has.

Was it too many curriculums to choose from?                                       Nope.
Was it curriculum that wasn’t right for her kids (too difficult/easy, not-the-right-style, boring, etc)?       Nope.
Was it that she is not a detail person?                                                    Nope.

What was it, then? The problem she has is INTERRUPTIONS! Whenever she tries to get some serious planning done, she has to take a break to deal with something.

I can relate. I am used to breaking up fights, keeping the crawler out of the flowerbed, helping the toddler get something or get out of something, assisting with some chalk drawing, or ferrying drinks outside. All while I’m trying to read something, take notes, or write up my lesson plans. I try not to simply give up. So far, my most productive time was the rainy afternoon this week when my kids had two neighbors over. I was able to have a huge (30-45 minutes) block of time to work on my history plans. I had almost finished them (three weeks left) when the rain stopped and the kids decided they wanted to move back outdoors. Cleanup ensued and chaos reigned supreme.

But, I soldier on. Math shouldn’t be that hard, but I think I’ll tackle Science. I’ve already started to work on my Apologia Astronomy rough plan to get the book done in 16 weeks. Another homeschooler wrote plans spreading it to 22 weeks, so I am paring it down to fit our school schedule.

Onward!

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in homeschool and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

