Only One Small Hiccup

Vacation bible school is over and the kids had a blast. The only hiccup was Thursday night when it started to pour rain right before we picked them up. I had neglected to check the forecast earlier, although I did note the dark rain clouds moving into the area. I hoped the storm would hold off until we had the children home. It didn’t work out that way. We could barely see through the driving rain on the way to pick up our kids and a neighbor.

Our biggest regret was that we rode our bikes originally although we switched to the van to pick them up because of the storm. Through pouring rain, foot-deep “flood” rivers, and dark conditions, we packed all the bikes and the kids into the van and headed home. Two of the children requested blankets during the short drive because of their wet skin and the chilly air. The neighbors cheered when we dropped off their child and his bike. I hadn’t planned on a “natural shower,” but had one anyway.

Overall, the kids really enjoyed themselves. They came home with lots of stories, trinkets, craft projects, and an enthusiasm for vacation bible school in the future. One of the adult volunteers told me on the last day that my quiet (shy) child actually led her group in the bible verse. Color me astonished!

We will certainly consider sending them to this activity again.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in activities, Kids, religion, summer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment