Summer Plans – No Structure But Some Ideas

I thought about this previously, but was motivated to add it after reading cellista’s “Is it May or is it me?” post.

Most home schoolers I know are year rounders. We are not. I want my summer break!

I don’t want to stick to a schedule in the summer. I want to sleep in (as much as the kids will let me, that is), not have my chores done by 9:30 (start of school), or worry about getting something done each day for the official record.

Do I think learning should stop in the summer? No! Swim lessons are on the list for this summer.  I have a ‘review’ book or two for the oldest to work on “for fun” when she is “bored.” The local library will have a summer reading club that we may take part in each week. I hope to teach the eldest and possibly #2 to write in cursive using sidewalk chalk. There may even be some spur of the moment science experiments to go with the flowers and plants the kids are growing.

But if something goes wrong, if it all fails miserably, I won’t stress about it. It is summer – a time for fun in the sun and great memories. Besides, in our house, no one wants to do school on beautiful days.

And I have to plan my schedule for next year. But that is fodder for another post, another time.

About doucementgently

I'm a thirty-something female with loads of kids, a great husband, and lots of things on my mind. I plan on blogging about homeschooling, personal finance, the economy in the U.S., politics, family life, and the things my children do.
This entry was posted in homeschool, Kids and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

